Is Tiger Woods Banned From Carrying Water at the Masters? Augusta National’s Unusual Rule Explored..Read down for more..👇👇👇

Is Tiger Woods Banned From Carrying Water at the Masters? Augusta National’s Unusual Rule Explored..Read down for more..👇👇👇

Is Tiger Woods Banned From Carrying Water at the Masters? Augusta National’s Unusual Rule Explored

In 1997, after Tiger Woods became the youngest champion in Masters history, winning by a record margin of 12 strokes, Augusta National honored him by giving him his own drinking fountain at the course. “All other golfers will drink from a different fountain, which you, as an honored champion, will have no need to use,” said the then-ANGC president. During the first round of the 2024 Masters, instead of drinking from the fountain, the five-time champion drank water from a bottle. And that caught quite some attention, courtesy of a rule followed in Augusta.

Augusta National’s regulations indicate, “No coolers or containers of any type in which beverages can be carried are allowed on the course.” Considering this, the fact that Woods was carrying a bottle and drinking from it pulled focus from his bid to make the cut for a record 24th consecutive appearance. But that’s where the details on the bottle came in.

Rather than his personal bottle, Tiger Woods was using a Masters-branded bottle to quench his thirst, alluding to the fact that players and patrons are allowed to carry bottles and other containers onto the course so long as they were bought on the grounds. The patrons were also seen carrying green colored tumblers and bottles on the course, which they could refill from the water fountains on the course – including the iconic Record Fountain. While it may seem as if this rule is to push people to buy ANGC concessions at exorbitant prices, that’s not the case.

To answer the question – Is Tiger Woods banned from carrying water at the Masters – it’s yes and no. He isn’t allowed to carry and drink water from his own bottles or containers. But if it’s an official ANGC bottle, he and every other player are free to carry it around the course. Seeing as Woods didn’t break any rule by drinking water during the first round, the management didn’t take any measures against the 15-time major champion. And as it turns out, drinking wasn’t the only thing he used the water for.

After inclement weather delayed the start of Round 1, Tiger Woods could finish only 13 holes before sundown. After resuming on Friday and wrapping up in an hour and a half, Woods had just 52 minutes before the start of Round 2. In preparation, he appeared to be applying a pain reliever on his back and midriff, also revealing a supportive patch on his back. After he was done, Lance Bennett poured water for Woods’ to clean his hands.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*